23 mars 2026 ยท 4 min de lecture
Coffee After 30: How I Turned a Dedica Into a Real Espresso Setup
From moka chaos to silky Dedica shots: mods, grind discipline, and AI-assisted shot logging โ in real-life ADHD mode.
# Coffee After 30: How I Turned a Dedica Into a Real Espresso Setup
I am well above 30 now, so I guess it's mandatory that I pick specialty espresso as a hobby?
I've always liked coffee, maybe too much. As an Italian, my go-to was espresso. I started collecting moka pots, made a few shitty mokas, and called it a day.
Last year I started doing filter coffee with a V60 I bought in Japan.
Then I bought a scale with a timer.
Then I went deeper and deeper into specialty coffee shops, and discovered that yes, pour-over and filter can beat espresso for fruity coffees.
But you know, I'm Italian, so I love espresso. Plus I bring an oat milk latte to my fiance in bed every morning, so an espresso machine is still very useful in this house.
Anyway, I was wondering: should I buy a new machine, start selling old crap on Leboncoin (basically French Craigslist), and pretend this is a rational financial decision?
Then it hit me: the same way I modded my OG Xbox and iPod, a Dedica can probably be modded too.
Surprise: of course it can.
So here I go again, spinning Perplexity like a madman, digging AliExpress, trying to find the right OPV copper valve to move the Dedica from 15 bar to 9 bar.
Honestly, I could write a full article about Perplexity alone. It's so fucking useful it changed my ADHD-ridden life.
Anyway, here's what I upgraded:
- a new steam wand tip (replaced the plastic one with a full-metal 3-hole tip)
- a 51mm bottomless portafilter, to pull larger shots and actually see extraction issues
- kept using my scale
- a K6 grinder (not cheap, around 100 EUR, but damn it's high quality)
- a WDT tool (explain what it is)
- a leveling/distribution tool (lol still don't know the proper name)
- I still need a better tamper
- a copper OPV valve that I haven't installed yet
I'll tell you what espresso is: three variables.
- grind size
- extraction time
- extraction ratio
If these 3 are right, you can pull golden shots (aka the perfect cup).
Too coarse and extraction runs too fast.
Too fine and it chokes.
Everything is interlinked.
It's still WIP, but I can now pull genuinely nice shots.
I did two beautiful shots on different coffees and OMG, it's night and day.
I used to think espresso had to taste burnt and aggressive.
Nope.
This Brazilian Guarani, with the right ratio and extraction time, was like drinking silky hazelnut-and-chocolate velvet.
I love it.
I'm also a wine guy (half French, half Italian), and coffee scratches a very similar itch: aromatic depth, origin differences, process obsession.
Except you're not drunk at the end of the day, just slightly jittery lol.
So my current routine is this:
1. Warm up machine + cup properly.
2. Dose 17g, grind on K6 around my current espresso zone (then adjust from there).
3. WDT, level/distribute, tamp consistently.
4. Pull the shot to target around 1:2 (about 34g out), aiming ~25-30s.
5. Taste immediately, log the shot (dose / yield / time / clicks / notes).
6. Change only one variable for the next shot.
โ
I still haven't installed the OPV, and I might not even do it right away.
I leveraged AI a lot to improve, and even built a small app to log my shots from my AI shadow (more on this soon, but I'm deep into building my personal agent).
Next step is mastering moka and V60 as seriously as espresso, and buying more coffees to explore this insane world.
I love this because it's a concrete example of how I went from 0 to 90 with AI + ADHD energy.
I don't know where I heard this, but this is our time, guys:
you can obsess for 10 hours and compress what used to take forever.
JK, of course you're not an expert in 10 hours.
But it absolutely helps.